I still can’t believe Chris Daughtry didn’t win…

We had an awesome time in Chicago yesterday–Andy had to get the visas for the Brazil trip, and some dear ladies volunteered to watch our kids so we could have enjoy the time together.  It was a nice break.  This past week we’ve been running around trying to pull the Brazil details together and starting a college ministry for the students coming home for break and getting Miles into different therapy programs and building a fence and our neighbor is having a garage sale this wknd, so I decided “why not?”  Well…there’s many reasons I shouldn’t, but we just bought tickets for a family vacation in Julie and Chris’ (hey, your debut online, Chris) townhouse in West Palm while they’re in Italy…so garage sale it is!

I’ve been working with the boys on the word black (“mat”)–well today Jack said he was coloring with “buh, buh, mat.”  I handed Miles his milk today and he said “thanks Sara.”  Pretty funny. 

Thank you for all the e-mails of encouragement and prayers you’ve offered for our little buddy.  There’s nothing quite like the feeling of helplessness when you understand what your child is dealing with and might have to throughout their life.  But nothing like that helplessness has drawn us more to our knees in begging God to have His way in our lives.  We’ve crafted these plans of where we’d go and what we’d do when our life is not our own.  May we learn what it is to focus on the eternal.

The other night I was singing “I Surrender All” with Jack before putting him down , and he started singing the chorus with  me.  He has no clue what that means, but it was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever heard as he tried.  I can’t help but think that’s how God looks at His children.  I try and sing “All to Jesus I surrender,” and He smiles as He wants to teach me what that means.  It’s also amazing to hear them pray now.  The other day Miles was holding baby Asia Holabeck, and starts praying for her “Dear Jesus, thank you for baby Asia, help her sleep, Amen!” 

Leave a Reply

