“Without faith, it is impossible to please God…”

And faith implies risk. 
So these are some of the thoughts I’ve had in our preparations to leave
tomorrow.
“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not
be afraid” John 14.27. 

“Who is God besides the Lord?  And who is the Rock except our God?  It is God who arms me with strength and makes
my way perfect” Psalm 18.31-32. 

“The Lord is with you…go in the strength you have…Am I not
sending you?…I will be with you”  God’s
replies to Gideon in Judges 6.

These are some of the passages that have been running
through my mind and are enabling my feet to board that plane tomorrow.  I don’t know why this time has been the
hardest for me.  We’ve led teams before
and we’ve taken our kids before overseas, but this is the first to combine them
both.  For a week, we didn’t know what
our flight was going to look like to Brazil
(since our airline went bankrupt), but last Monday we got a new flight that
goes straight from Chicago to Sao
Paulo.  This is
even better than the ones we’d purchased—I’d like to say I trusted God the
whole time, but well, read our last post. 
It is very cool to see His provision in that, and it’s a kick in the
pants to not be anxious, but pray. 

Today is Jack’s birthday, and I’ve been enjoying him so much
today.  He climbed a bookshelf yesterday
in church, and it fell on top of him.  It’s
pretty nasty, there’s a gash right beside his eye (so grateful it wasn’t a
centimeter over…)  I made him a smoothie
today (his favorite), but when it’s over, he says, “more moonie pease.”  Jack was upset the other day, and Miles gets
disturbed too.  Andy goes “Miles, what do
you want?”  And he replied “I want to
push Jack!”  I still can’t say it without
laughing…I appreciate the honesty

Well, back to packing. 
A team just returned from overseas, and said they got fined for every
carry-on over 25 lbs. and suitcase over 50 lbs! 
Aye-karumba!  My carry-on is 25
lbs. of play-doh, crayons, books, diapers, “white bear” for Miles and “puppy”
for Jack—a pretty funny sight.

Leave a Reply

