miles hug asiamiles asia
Miles LOOOOOOOOVES holding baby Asia Holabeck
asia pacifier
DSC_0037

I’m so excited to go to church tomorrow.  I love our church, and haven’t been able to go for a few weeks…so I’m especially eager to get there.  Today was soooooo nice.  No agenda.  No meetings.  Nothing to get done.  Just hang out.   Laugh.  Play.  Build towers.  Eat popsicles.  Ramp trucks.  Picnic at the park.  Long drives in our convertible.  It was a good day. 
Last night we had a goodbye party for Dave and Trish, although none of us like goodbyes, so around 1 in the morning, we said, see you later!  It’s crazy that 5 years ago we had them over for dinner, as they were interested in Cambodia.  Then 3 years later, we took an exploratory trip there with Dave, Trish, Will, and Joanna to consider moving there as a team.  Breakfast at the Sunrise Cafe in Battambang, the 6 of us discussed where we were at in the process of considering moving to Cambodia.  Andy and I said we’re in–we’re heading in that direction.  We return to the US and are hit with different medical issues facing our son, and put plans on hold.  Meanwhile, Will and Jo move to Korea and Dave and Trish move to Cambodia.  As sad as we are to say goodbyes, we are so excited to see where our friends end up as they are directed by God.  And in the meantime, we’re doing all we can to help our little guy. 
So, Monday Miles has another surgery…and we pray this is another step to help him feel better. 
Sometimes I’m overwhelmed with anticipation of meeting our Lord someday.  Not so I can ask him a whole bunch of “why?”s, but so that I will fall on my face in complete surrender to His perfect, sovereign, holy love and grace, and it will all make sense. 

5 thoughts on “

  1. speedyjhg

    Good byes aren’t a whole lot of fun.  I miss you guys.  I’m in my sixth and final year at Judson.  If all goes as currently planned, I will have a Master’s of Architecture come May.  I’m living in Elgin with Sam, my wife, who I have been married to since May 21, 2005.  Life is a little crazy right now as we are gearing up for the fall semester and me not working as much.  Hope today is wonderful for you.

    Reply
  2. peteandheather

    I often look forward to that same thing…there are so many things that don’t seem to make sense and all I can do is just rest in the knowledge that His plan is perfect.  We’re praying for you guys and especially little Miles.  Could you do me a favor?  If you have Trish’s email address could you send it to me, please?  I had it and now can’t find it.  Thanks! 

    Reply
  3. cherithpeters

    I love you guys!  I know I haven’t seen you for years, but for some reason your one of those couples that I just love. I’ve never met your kids, but I love them already.  Your xangas are always encouraging to me.  Thanks!  I teared up reading this one.  It seems like whenever we think we have our futures figured out God reminds us who is in control.  His workings in our lives look so different for different people, but it’s all the same really. It’s God gently (sometimes not so gently) putting His hand on our shoulders, turning us around and saying, “Slow down there, I have a better idea.  Let’s go this way.” Sometimes it makes sense when we stop and look back and sometimes it doesn’t….but then that’s true of all aspects of God.  Sometimes it makes sense and sometimes it doesn’t. Like you say though, some day it will all make sense and even though I thank Him now that He is in control, the day will come when I will truely praise Him that He was in control. 

    Reply
  4. JAMBender

    ~I’m an old married woman as of May 6, 2006, and I’m loving it. 🙂 I actually married a Grace graduate, so you may know him, he said Andy’s name sounded familiar, but since I couldn’t remember your maiden name, he didn’t know if he knew you or not.  Yes, we still live in the area, I thought your family was in Ohio for some reason, are you still in Indiana?  If you are, we should get together, I’d love to meet your boys and to see you guys again, and I think Andy and Jordan would get along fantastically!  I’m praying for Miles today as he goes through the surgery, please let us know how it goes.  It was good to hear from you 🙂 ~

    Reply
  5. bigsnooze

    Hello . I am Jess Bender’s (Thompson) father -in-law. I just had to laugh at the pottey training pictures. We have 2 sons and 2 daughters and my wife would let the boys ‘”water” weeds also. They thought that it was cool  help with the control of any vegetation around the farm. None of them were hard to train but the boys were more fun for sure. Enjoy their childhood !
    CJB 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

