este é o dia

Where in the world has this week gone?  I guess when you cram a going away party, cardboard boat race, surgery, regular meetings, dinner guests, a date, dr. appts., therapies, potty-training, amidst the everyday chaos of a 2 and 3 yr. old, the weeks begin to seem like a whirlwind.  I’m sooooo glad we got away a bit last night.  We’re shooting for 2 “away dates” a month–it’s a start, and at this point in life, it’s probably all that we can count on 🙂  I just don’t want to turn into one of those couples whose kids become so central to their world that they no longer relate to each other.  Now, there are times this is inevitable, but I think what gets us through those times are the nights we take to get away and leave the concerns of potty-training, discipline, work, autism, blah, blah, blah… behind.  So, stepping off my soapbox…
There is something I’ve been thinking about lately.  I don’t want anyone to feel bad for us.  The more we share our struggles in the reality of our situation, the more I hope we’re able to portray how blessed we are in the midst of them.  I can’t tell how I come across when I share about Miles, because it is incredibly difficult to face, but we are learning so much about God’s perfect care for His children.  This is not an accident.  God created our children to be who they are.  And I have never had such an opportunity to depend on Him.  Lamentations has never been so powerful to me:  “The unfailing love of the LORD never ends! By His mercies we have been kept from complete destruction. Great is His faithfulness; His mercies begin afresh everyday. I say to myself, “The LORD is my inheritance; therefore I will hope in Him!”
Jack has now learned to climb up into the pantry and reach out his snack of choice.  The other day he was quiet–which means something is going on, and there he is hiding in the bathroom munching on a bag of pretzels. 
pretzel
He also has taken an interest in how I wear my sunglasses on my head at times, and has tried to do the same. (In posing, he’s saying “tudo bem?”–portuguese for “doing well?”)
thumbs up
Miles has taken an interest in a certain drawer of mine.
miles in bra
This morning, Miles was the 1st to go into Jack’s room and get him up.  I hear them in there:
Miles: Good morning baby Jack
Jack: Hi Miles.  Happy to see you.
Miles:  Love you baby Jack.
If only every morning began like this, but hey, I’ll take one!

2 thoughts on “este é o dia

  1. peteandheather

    The pictures are great–as always!  Sara, I just wanted to let you know, that I think you do a great job of balancing the struggles that you are facing with Miles and yet giving God honor and glory in the midst of it all knowing that He has a plan for it all.  I always come away from reading your posts encouraged and a little challenged to face my struggles in such a God-honoring way.  It’s good to share our burdens and our praises with one another!  Thanks for being open and honest.  Also, I love when you share the dialogues between the boys or you and the boys–it’s great.  Kids are just the funniest!  Well…this is turning into a novella, better go!  🙂

    Reply
  2. peteandheather

    I don’t plan to get a whole lot of scrapbooking done at this stage in life, but it’s something productive to do during naptimes on those rare days when the house is clean and I don’t have a list a mile long of things to do!  It’s good to hear that each stage keeps getting better.  I have thought that all along, but it is so much fun at this point that I keep wondering if it can get better!  🙂 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

