And then there was chocolate milk…

boys on bikes
masks2
My small group had a spa night before school started.  We did pedicures and facials and had a blast!
 
Tonight we were brave and took the youngens to Jefferson Pointe with us.  It was quite the adventure.  I don’t remember eating my meal, although I’m sure it was good, as Smokey Bones always is.  But after our 3rd trip with Miles to the bathroom, I decided it was better to take him to the car.  I think he was pretty overwhelmed with the noise and the bathrooms were his “escape,” but then the toilets flushed so loud, so he’d just scream.  It’s always interesting, and saddening sometimes, to watch how people to respond to him.  Gone are the days when I was so concerned he had to look “normal” in public.  So I’m okay to let him be the special guy he is, but it’s hard to see how people react.  The lady in the booth next to us was clearly annoyed by his having to go to the bathroom every 5 min. and then screaming as he ran back to his seat.  I’m sure he looked crazy, but the last thing a parent needs is dirty looks when their child is having a meltdown.  It was a nice evening once we left the restaurant.  They played in the fountain and with a train set in Barnes and Noble and Jack got his first taste of chocolate milk–I wish we had the expression on his face on camera.  It was priceless.
Anyhow, 2 days until Miles starts preschool (sniff, sniff)…Ok, another subject please.
So we had our neighbors from India over for dinner last night.  I am really excited to get to know them better.  Before they left, they were trying to set up the next time to get together.  Only a few minor disastors:  It was raining, so it was a bit chaotic with 6 adults and 6 children (from 3 mos – 4 yrs) inside.  (Back to the Miles getting overwhelmed comment…)  I made Brazilian and she brought Indian food, but I put pork in the beans–DUH!  (Hindu don’t eat pork, as it’s considered a religious animal–I feel really bad.)  I was pouring boiling water into a teapot and my 2 fingers got in the way.  (But I’ve gotten out of dishes for the day–still not worth the pain though πŸ™‚  Oh, and I was wearing shorts so I changed into jeans when I realized I was the only one in shorts–not sure how used they are to this aspect of our culture.  I think that’s it.  
Thanks for reading all about our silly little adventures.  More sagas soon!
 beach walk
Our “other home.”

One thought on “And then there was chocolate milk…

  1. peteandheather

    The parents were definitely there!  We might have been able to handle the five little ones on our own, but we invited the whole families.  It was a lot of fun.  Love the pics–especially the spa night!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

