Back to cyperspace…our computer’s been in the shop for awhile.  How do I even summarize our week?  It’s hard for me to remember what I did yesterday, let alone fill you in on all the fun and exciting details of the week…I’ll try. 
        Monday we didn’t do a thing, except build lots of lego creatures.  It was so very nice.  We enjoyed the day off and our kids.
        Tuesday was a little rough.  Miles has been doing so well, and I’m so proud of how well he’s dealing with preschool, etc.  I don’t know if it got to be too much or some allergy meds we’re trying, but he had a hard day.  And that was a bad day to fall on, but Andy left his meetings early (7 pm), came home and I went to a gift-wrapping party a friend had for the Christmas community outreach.  That was a nice ending.
        Wednesday was a difficult day too with Miles.  I had a Bible Study in the a.m., and he didn’t want to go, but for Jack, it’s his “school.”  He has a backpack for a change of undies/pants and is so excited to get to go to school 1 day a week…so, we went.  I probably shouldn’t have, because the rest of the day Miles was very fragile and the littlest things turned to meltdowns.  But we got through and when Andy got home, he took the boys grocery shopping while I prepared for my small group.  The boys came home with “flowers to make mom happy.”  Andy had given them some quarters and had them pick out some flowers–It was so sweet and continues to make me laugh…Since then, I’ll say something and they’ll think I’m upset.  Yesterday I was saying “I’m so bummed because…”  It wasn’t anything big at all, but Miles says “Don’t be sad, mom.  Look at your flowers!” 
       Thursday Miles had speech therapy and LOVES “playing at Tammy’s house” (although Tammy is the therapist at an office), I won’t tell him differently!  Can’t really remember what else happened.  Ummm…Yes, this was the day I said “Enough is enough.  Poop goes in the potty.  Although, someone sat there for an hour as he watched sesame street, drank coffee, ate raisins–no luck…until he got up.”  I’ve decided all I want for Christmas this year is poop in the potty (sorry for the graphic content.)
DSC_0006
       Yesterday was the best day I can remember of the week.  We had a “family movie night” and watched the Incredibles together.  Well, it went more like Andy and I were into the movie, Miles was too, but Jack just wanted us to throw ball and run around with him.  We got him to sit still for a little bit while he ate his chocolate pretzel.  (A highlight for us all πŸ™‚  It really is a cute movie.  It made me laugh, especially the Dash character.  I won’t spoil it if you haven’t seen it, but he reminded me so much of our Jack.  “You mean run as fast as I can?”
DSC_0010
DSC_0008

Tonight is date night, and I can’t wait!  Our kids can’t either–we asked who they’d want to come watch them and unanimously, they yell “Kaitlyn!!!  I need Kaitlyn!”  That makes things so much easier–it was so much harder to get away when I knew our kids just wanted us to come home.  I’m starting to understand the “seasons” older moms talk about, and I’m realizing how fast time flies.  Although I joke about just wanting them to poop in the potty, I can’t believe they’re both out of diapers and pee there.  Maybe this isn’t the best example, but I so easily wish we were at the next stage…that I can miss so many of the blessings of where we are right now. 
        Miles wants to sing “Star-Spangled Banner” now before he goes to sleep.  Of all the choices for a lullaby “the rockets red glare, the bombs bursting in air!”  It may not seem as funny not in person, but it cracks me up.
       So, my week summary was probably all about the kids.  I can’t remember anything personally that went on–Guess it’s the season where it’s all about them anyway πŸ™‚  Ok, Veggie Tales is almost over, and I need a shower!  Have a great rest of the weekend!
      

4 thoughts on “

  1. JAMBender

    ~How was date night? I love that you guys have that so often πŸ™‚ The pictures are wonderful. . . one thing I noticed is that it seems like when you guys talk about watching a movie together, it’s like a sleepover for your kids in your bed πŸ™‚ I bet the boys love that! Hope the poopy stage ends fast for you. . . good to have back πŸ™‚ ~

    Reply
  2. cherithpeters

    I also would LOVE poop in the potty for Christmas!  Sara I want to tell you that you do such a good job of building up your husband! I am sure that he is not as perfect as you make him sound on here.  I don’t think I have ever read some petty husband-bashing complaint on here, but almost every post has some little thing that Andy has done that was sweet or thoughtful or how good he is at something or a story about his interaction with the boys that makes him sound like some sort of super-husband.  So many people spin it the other way, it makes me happy to see you doing it this way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

