“I’m not a woman anymore. I’m a mom!”

Thanks for all the reassurance that, indeed, there is life after the minivan ๐Ÿ™‚  We got her.  I think another difference for me this time in buying a car was it was very much a “head” decision.  It’s very logical.  However, after I test-drove it, the guy’s like “How do you like her?!?!?!?”  “Um… it’s nice for a minivan.  I’m not too keen on it, but if we have to get a van, it’s ok.”  (MAybe that’s why we got such a good deal.)  Unlike the past 2 cars we’ve bought, I was ONE with them from the moment I dropped myself into the driver seat.  So, it’s a volitional decision for me to get behind the steering wheel, and someday, we will become one, I’m sure.  But as we were driving home, I was thinking about this funny SNL skit I’d seen, and thought while I’m driving a minivan, looks like I need a pair of “mom jeans.”
http://www.metacafe.com/watch/55414/mom_jeans/

This is the hard thing about xanga–sometimes I’m not sure how to explain things or how they’ll be taken, so I’m taking this paragraph out about hating to sell our VW convertible–sorry if you missed it, but if you read it, it could’ve been easily misinterpreted.  This was a God-send of a car–came when we only had 1 car and seriously had the cash in hand when the car came along for $1000 (which we’d profited from another car sale), so anyhow it was an amazing blessing in a hard time of life.  I remember the 1st time driving it–I hadn’t smiled like that in a long time.  I’d never ridden in a convertible, and it was raining, and I was so stoked I didn’t care.  Anyhow, those who know us, know this story.  But I hate being misunderstood–and didn’t want to come across as having this fancy car I can’t part with.  Again, it’s more the sentiment than fancy for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on ““I’m not a woman anymore. I’m a mom!”

  1. katievarela

    Have you ever seen the TLC show, “Clean Sweep”? One of the “cleaners” on that show always tells the pack rats (not saying you’re a pack rat, but you know what I mean) that they will always keep the memories–that the things aren’t the memories, the memories are. Anyway, if you’ve seen the show, you’ll know what I’m talking about. ๐Ÿ™‚ However, that WOULD be weird seeing your one-of-a-kind car being driven around town when it isn’t yours anymore.

    Reply
  2. theroyerfam

    I’ve never seen that show Katie, but I like that idea alot. I’m not a packrat–my husband won’t let me be ๐Ÿ™‚ But I always need to be reminded to hold things loosely ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  3. tsdg

    Didn’t even think of the car as a fancy thing, but as a sentiment thing…..your heart is very evident in your posts, don’t think you have anything to worry about in conveying your sentiments of the car. Congrats on your new ride!!

    Reply
  4. godsgirl_85

    I go to CCC and Andy sent out an email last night that had your xanga address on it. I was checking out your site and really liked your slide show so I uploaded one myslef but i was wondering  how did you get your slide show to appear on the left side of the screen. When I uploaded mine it put it in as a new blog entry.?

    Reply
  5. peteandheather

    Cars are definitely sentimental to me, too, Sara…I can’t quite explain it either.  We had to get rid of Pete’s old truck a couple years ago and it was so sad.  It was what he drove when we were dating and when we first got married…but it was a piece of junk by the time we had to sell it.  Anyway, now my old car is dying and we’re talking mini-van…I feel your pain.  We’re also looking into MVP’s…you’ll have to let me know what you think, after you get through the initial “yuck, I have to drive a mini-van” stage. 

    Reply
  6. FranciPantsJones

    Sara and Andy and your two adorable kids!! Crazy how time flies. It seems as though you are well… buying minivans and loving parenthood. Great to see your site. I’m new to the xanga/blog world. Nice to catch up with people!Peace!

    Reply
  7. brahamcrackers

    I’m sure I’ll be thinking the same thing when I get to the mini-van stage. I’m sure no one initially WANTS to be driving one… it just sort of happens of out necessity. Thanks so much for your comments on my xanga. They were really encouraging. There is something so comforting about moms who have been there and tell you that your feelings and emotions are normal. Thank you so much.

    Reply
  8. emmitt_jackson

         Sara, I had a lot of fun hanging out with you today.  I realized I don’t really see you or Andy all that much I guess.  In fact, most of the people I see on Sunday, I only see on Sunday.  Sad isn’t it?  Anyway, be sure to tell Andy that I appreciated youth group this week–actually I always get a lot out of it.  It just seems to be “sticking” lately.  Make sure to have an exciting week this week, working hard for the Lord, as always.  I hope I can make cookies for you sometime and I will see you guys Lord willing at the concert next week if not before! 
         Also, I am excited that you got a minivan, because now you can expand your family!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

