Walkin’ in a Winter Wonderland

This morning went really well.  Although, I keep thinking of better illustrations I should have used.  I should write them down should I be crazy enough to say “yes” for a next time.  It makes me appreciate Andy and other pastors who teach so much more.  I know it doesn’t drain him like it does me.  But since then, I’ve reverted to enjoying my day as if I were a 2 and 3 yr. old.  We played in the snow alot today.  And have listened to kids’ songs endlessly.  I really hope someone comes out with a cool kids’ album soon, one kids would like to sing-along with, but minus the cheesy synthesizer and drum machine–Jen and John??  Marcie and Miah??  Someone, please??? 
Everytime I’ve tried to talk with someone other than them today, they end up in a time out for going off the deep end, so I think they’re enjoying my full, undivided attention…until now, but Andy’s home, and I’m waiting for the french onion soup to simmer. 
Jack’s prayer before nap today was so sweet:  “Dear Jesus, thank You for this day.  Thank You for Bible School.  Thank You for church.  Thank you for Ohio.  Thank You for Brazil.  Thank You for grandma and grandpa.  Thank You for mommy and daddy.  Thank You for Miles and Jack.  Thank You for playing in the snow.  Thank You for hair (he was playing with my hair at this point).  Thank You for E-I-E-I-O (that would be Old MacDonald).  I love you Jesus, Amen.”  I know I shouldn’t compliment my son on his prayer, but I had to tell him it was a very sweet one.
Here’s some pics of our time in the snow.  (Mainly for the grandparents, but you can enjoy them too!)  Again, bah humbug, but let’s face it, I live in Indiana.
swingin in snow
jack snow
jack snow3
miles snow
miles snow2
Tonight, Andy has the college group.  I’m looking forward to starting my Christmas cards.  I’ve bought supplies to make them…we’ll see how far I get.  I’ve also set a deadline to get our Cambodia scrapbook together–before it’s been 2 years…So, I should get started on that 🙂

7 thoughts on “Walkin’ in a Winter Wonderland

  1. spies_likeus

    Wow… I was wearing flip flops and a tank top today. It’s so weird that there’s snow on the ground up there! It’s supposed to get down to the 30’s at night this weekend though! I’m excited… I think we’ll finally get to use this out door fire place we have! 🙂 And as far as the children’s cd goes… I forgot that we talked about that! It really is a good idea. Have you heard of The Ramones for Kids album? I was just informed about it. I’ll check it out and let you know if it really is something you’d want your kids listening to 🙂

    Reply
  2. filledeparis

    Hey, Sar…There is rarely snow in Paris. Enjoy! Hope to call soon–the phone lines are once again open! I have a Christmas club in the city today.Miss you! Much love, Holl

    Reply
  3. JAMBender

    ~Yum. . .french onion soup. . . .is that homemade?  Is it easy?  I need easy recipes. . . cooking every night is starting to wear on me, and my recipes are running thin 🙂  It looks like you guys had a wonderful day in the snow!  And I’ll be honest, as much as I love every season, and I love the first snow fall, yesterday was a bit cold for me.  Can we have snow but with temperatures in the 35+range?  That would make me happy.   I like my car to warm up before I get to work 12 miles away 🙂  Have a wonderful weekend Royers!~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

