Oh you guys, I don’t even know what to write.  I mean, there’s alot to
say…just condensing it is the issue.  I didn’t get started on my
Christmas cards Thursday…some little turkey had misplaced my
embossing tool.  Maybe I need to accept this is not the year to make
our cards…I thought it would be cheaper for the amount we send, but I
don’t know that it is.  I could have scrapbooked, but maybe I’ll return
the scrapbook for a picture box πŸ™‚ 
Saturday, Miles had a birthday party for a friend from preschool.  I
stayed with him, and various times my eyes welled up with tears
watching my little boy so grown up but taking such pride in his momma
being by his side–I know that will end someday, but I hope not. 
Here’s some pics I took:
DSC_0006
DSC_0010
DSC_0014
Sunday, we had some friends over after church and they stayed until the
40 Miles North Concert that night.  Sundays are crazy, but I really
like having people over after church–Sometimes I can walk in and out
of church and never have true “fellowship” or community.  So, we’re
working on figuring out how to add that to our Sunday.  I was debating
on going to the concert, as it was a busy wknd, and I didn’t want it to
be too much on the kids, but I’m so glad I did.  The songs were so
meaningful with a richer perspective on life and this time of
year–Thank you 40 Miles North.
         Today, I baked cookies at the church in the am for the Christmas
Community Outreach Friday night.  And then came home and baked 3
cheesecakes and 2 cakes.  We’re having our student ministries
leadership team (the people who help us out) over tomorrow night for
cheesecake.  Andy just got home from working out, and is trying to
convince me to give him a sample.  It is hard to bake 5 cakes and not
get to taste-test.  Maybe I’ll have a heart…
        Tonight, our neighbor called and has asked me to be in charge of games
on Sunday for her daughter’s birthday party.  I was asking her for more
details–70 people.  35 KIDS.  Mostly 3-4 yr. olds.  15 1-yr. olds.  1
hour of games.  HELP!  (These are our neighbors from India, so our kids
will be the only Americans)  Um… ideas, anyone?!?  It really should
be a riot.  Andy is going to dress up as Santa Claus.  He is practicing
his voice and laugh.  She said “Oh, he will be a very handsome Santa.” 
I got a kick out of that. 
This is Jack waking up from his nap today.  It was a precious moment, for both of them.
DSC_0015
I think I’ve successfully filled up enough text without telling you
what’s really been on my mind a lot this week.  But maybe I can get to
that some other time, when I can sort it through some more.  (And when
I don’t have a counter-full of dishes to do πŸ™‚  Hope you all are having
a good week.  Treat yourself to some time to slow down and enjoy a gift
greater than we could ever have imagined. 
        For to us a child is born,

        to us a son is given,

        and the government will be on his shoulders.

        And he will be called

        Wonderful Counselor,

        Mighty God,

        Everlasting Father,

        Prince of Peace.

5 thoughts on “

  1. cmanahan

    That is the most insane number of people at a birthday party I have every heard of.  I don’t think I have any good ideas, but I will be looking forward to hearing about how it goes.  Way to go, dressing up like Santa.  Good luck.  Thanks for the port-a-potty advice.  There is now a potty travelling in our van at all times.

    Reply
  2. jilandrich

    What sweet pictures of your boys. Um, 70 people?! Wow. We were there last night. I caught a glimpse of you during the concert- we got there just after it started. Sorry we didn’t get a chance to say hi. Seriously, you’ll have to tell us how ringleading the party games goes!

    Reply
  3. tsdg

    Wow, that is a lot of people for a birthday party. Will everyone be inside? Will you be playing games outside? Outside games with lots of kids—red light,green light, the blob, streets and alleys, rock,scissors,paper(or something of the sort)—so can you tell I was an OB leader? One year olds? Ring around the Rosie, Head,Shoulders,Knees and toes and other hand games. Hope it goes well–will you eat Indian food? Yummy.Brian and I were just discussing the lack of fellowship during “church” at the building–we were trying to get together with some people Sunday afternoon and it didn’t work out. So–we were missing that sweet fellowship and are still looking for some outside of a church program.

    Reply
  4. spies_likeus

    70  kids? geeze! and 1 hour of games for kids ages 1-4… hahahaha I definitely want to hear how this goes πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll do fabulously! But I think I would laugh. a lot. if I were there with you πŸ™‚ I sure do miss you Sara. Why do Florida and Indiana have to be so far apart? Oh, and I just read your profile and how you said the band you wish you were in is U2 and I completely agree with you. I think we should audition. They need us. They just don’t know it yet:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

