Well, I hesitate to write about our Christmas for a few reasons:  1. There are others out there who are having harder times than ours (dealing with losing loved ones or being apart at Christmas)  2. Christmas is a celebration of a Savior being born, so how can we not be overwhelmed with joy?  3. I should be done feeling sorry for myself.  4. You all are going to think our family is a bunch of sickos…I’m starting to think so too. 
Friday Miles woke up with a very high fever, and laid in bed all day with chills–the dr. office was closed, and the alternative was the E.R., so we waited it out, and Saturday he seemed better–only worn out. 
Saturday and Sunday, Andy’s sister’s family came over.  Our kids had a blast playing together–they have some cute kiddos. 
DSC_0043
DSC_0029
Monday, we packed up and drove to my parents’ in  Ohio.  I’ve been looking forward to this week for weeks…Andy took the whole week off, and we were so excited to have time to just relax, hang out with family, catch up on conversation and life.  My parents were going to take the kids for a day and we were going to celebrate an early anniversary. 
Wellllllll….Monday we kept saying Jack feels warm and isn’t acting himself.  He went to bed ok, but kept mumbling strange things in his sleep and was burning up, so I gave him some tylenol, and he threw it up everywhere and everything after that…  So, Christmas night, Andy and I took shifts holding a burning up, hallucinating, puking, very sick child.  Tuesday and Wednesday, he wasn’t any better–I did get some tylenol suppositories (NOT fun to give a 2 yr. old), but it helped bring the fever down some.  Wednesday night he slept most the night in his bed, which we were very thankful for.  And Thursday we drove back home, exhausted, longing for a vacation, wondering why, just tired more than anything.
Poor Jack talks about going to Ohio all the time.  He prays most nights we can go, and last night when he was praying, he said “Dear Jesus, thank you for this day, thank you we could come to Ohio….”  Then he sat there silent for 1 min.  I’m sure he just wondered what happened.  And I couldn’t hold back tears.  I felt so bad for him..and for all of us.  It just doesn’t make sense.  I’m sure we all can say at times life isn’t fair.  And while I want to demand it should be, it won’t be this side of heaven.  While I was longing for a vacation, I realize that only temporarily satisfies.  I need more of Christ.
So today he seems to be feeling better–a week gone by of sickness in the family.  Andy and I are trying to stay sane and get over our own bouts of whatever sickness they’ve shared with us before we return to “normal” life.  It’s certainly a Christmas we won’t forget.  Not because I took a bunch of pictures of our kids in their misery, but because we’re forced to find good in otherwise a defeating situation. 
DSC_0085
And a family who watches our kids sometimes just sent us this one of Jack–this is our Jiggy (only I don’t know whose glasses those are πŸ™‚
jack at wittes

4 thoughts on “

  1. peteandheather

    Aw, Sara…I’m so sorry.  I hate looking forward to something and then having it flop.  I’m praying that you’ll have a day full of glimpses of heaven, to refresh your spirit and help strengthen you until that day!  πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. katievarela

    Oh, Sara! I really feel for you… The week turned out to be very different from what you were looking forward to. 😦 I’m so glad you all are better now!

    That picture of Jack is hilarious. Those glasses look too small to be anyone’s other than a very small child’s or Mr. Potato Head’s.

    Reply
  3. peteandheather

    It probably was coffee.  My mom lets him drink hers, which is mostly sugar and cream, and he loves it.  Now anytime he sees a coffee cup he thinks he should get some.  Thanks a lot, Mom.  The things you look past for free babysitting!  πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

