quick update…

I didn’t go to bed New Year’s Eve until after 2 am…so much for catching up on sleep.  But it got to be 10, and I thought I might as well stay up and see the Times Square festivities, then it got to be 11, and I thought I might as well see the ball drop, then it got to be 1 and Andy came home, and I was asking how the party went…so again, it’s been a different holiday season for me.  I’ve never spent New Year’s Eve alone.  At midnight, I went in and gave the boys a kiss.  But I think the nasty flu got the better of us this year, and just wiped me out.
       There has been some good coming out of this, I’ll have you know.  We were running so hard these weeks in December, and I just kept thinking “vacation” was the answer to finding some rest.  Well, when that didn’t happen, it’s been good to go back to the Giver of life and rest and joy and peace.  And I realize how close we’ve grown as a couple through some more hard times.  As we celebrate 6 years on Saturday!!!!, I just look at how far we’ve come.  I would’ve never imagined we’d face some of the hardships we have, and yet, I can see how good they’ve been for us.  It’s made me cling to God at times, strengthen our relationship, and made me truly enjoy the fun times all the more!
DSC_0028
       So, we’re getting away Saturday (and hopefully Friday night too, if priceline.com cooperates ๐Ÿ™‚  We’re spending the day in Chicago, and I’m so excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I’ve been keeping our kids incubated this week as much as I can stand it!  We’ve seen a few people, but no trips to Wal-Mart or the library in hopes of keeping them as healthy as possible.  Last night, I took Miles’ temp, and it was 100.5–NOOOO!!  But this
a.m., it’s fine.  So, I’m trying not to get my hopes up too much…and praying really hard.  But, nonetheless, it is a celebration of
6 years with the man of my dreams!
DSC_0026
       I found a funny verse in Ecclesiastes 9.9:  Enjoy life with your wife, whom you love, all the days of this
meaningless life that God has given you under the sunโ€” all your
meaningless days. For this is your lot in life and in your toilsome
labor under the sun.
  I don’t know that I’ll include this verse in an anniversary card–“all our meaningless days together” just doesn’t seem right, but I thought it was funny for some reason.
       Maybe this is not such a quick update, and I can’t really remember what
I was going to update on…but I hope you all enjoy your day.  I’ll try as well, although Miles told me this a.m. he wants to be naughty today.  I told him that would result in time out or spanking.  He doesn’t seem to mind.  I pray we get our nice little Miles back soon… 

7 thoughts on “quick update…

  1. peteandheather

    I meant to comment on one of your last post about spoiling Jack (I think it was Jack) when he was sick and then trying to re-train him…I’m totally there with Jon again.  He’s got another cold–man the germs are bad this season–and he’s starting to recover and getting a bit demanding.  I made him into this monster by sharing my breakfast with him on my lap, etc…  Just wanted to say that I completely relate.  Happy early anniversary!  I hope you’re able to go to Chicago tomorrow and that you have a fabulous time Friday and Saturday and all your meaningless days!  ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  2. tsdg

    I hope the sick free home continues through the weekend! I hope you have a great getaway this weekend! I really admire your ability to plan and getaway with your husband. Brian and I really need to do that more often.

    Reply
  3. emmitt_jackson

    Congratulations on your anniversary. It’s good to here that you guys are still incredibly in love after 6 years! I can believe it about your boys,… my niece and nephew are the same way. They are 3 and 5 months and both have been to the hospital in the last month or so for being so sick. I don’t think I never got sick as much as kids do now. It’s like an epidemic… Anyway, It would have been nice if you could have been there at the Progessive party Sara, since you planned it. I’m sorry you didn’t get a babysitter. Sometimes things don’t work out like you want them to. Thank you guys infinitly much for all the sacrifices you’ve made and all the behind-the-scenes stuff you’ve done for our youth group, as well as us individually. You’ve both been such blessings. Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

