warning…it may be a little lengthy…

So, a crazy thing happened today…I had a few things to pick up at
Wal-Mart before making dinner–Andy called me there, saying he’d gotten
a call that a girl in my small group had been in a car accident and her
and her sister were taken to the ER and carried in on stretchers. 
Fighting back tears, I finished getting what I needed (and added a box
of tissues to the cart), drove to the ER, not knowing what to expect. 
My mind tends to go to worst-case scenario, as I begin to wonder if
I’ll get to see her or if she’s been life-lighted to Ft.
Wayne…anyhow, show up and she’s in the waiting room.  It was actually
her mom and sister on the stretcher, and they are ok.  It’s crazy how
quickly everything can change.  Times like these remind us of how
fragile our lives are.  And she got a good laugh when I told her how I
was crying in Wal-Mart over my mind getting carried away…
       Anyhow, this week has been kind of a whirlwind.  I went Friday
to Ohio, and it was good to spend time with my mom in the hospital and
my dad driving 3 hours round-trip to see her everyday.  My mom is doing
as well as can be expected–I have yet to hear her complain about
anything.  It is a very painful and loooooong recovery…but there have
been no complications this far–praise God, and thank you for your
prayers.  That was really encouraging!  It’s been so sweet how
concerned our boys are about their grandma.  They always want to pray
for her.  And Jack will always ask if she is happy–to him, that is the
important thing.  I got back last night and it was good to have today
at home with the fam…
       …and here are some fun highlights of my day:
       –Jack was doing somersaults this evening, and I said “That’s a
good somersault.”  But he replied, “No I’m doing capweda.” 
Impressive!  Capweda is a Brazilian fight-dance that we saw this
summer.  Apparently, Jack is working on his own moves.
handstands
       –Jack made a seahorse in the potty!  (He enjoys labelling his
poop, and I never thought I’d say this, but it’s one of my favorite
things–he was trying to make a star…that could be challenging…) 
       –Yesterday, Miles got out of another nap, but Andy fell
asleep…and woke up to the sound of our Kitchen Aid mixer.  He ran out
to see Miles “making chocolate cake” (dumping eggs into the bowl and
turning it on)  thankfully the attachments weren’t on or we may not be
laughing about it.  I now know to unplug the mixer when not in use…
       –When I was packing to go, the boys kept trying to pack themselves.  It was really cute..but kinda sad too.
DSC_0041
DSC_0045
       –Ok, maybe these aren’t highlights of just today, but rather the past week.  I sure missed these guys.  As hectic as they make our lives…I can’t imagine life without them. 
I missed this look.
DSC_0036
and Miles being a goof.
DSC_0016
DSC_0008
and a pint-size coffee-drinking buddy.
DSC_0049
Hey, I hope you all have a good
week–not that it’s going to be flawless, but that we won’t waste time,
but find the good in each day.

8 thoughts on “warning…it may be a little lengthy…

  1. tsdg

    MIles getting into the mixer is funny, it is so amazing what they think of to fill their time with! Capweda looks really awesome, I’d like to see it sometime. I hope Jack keeps improving his skills! How long will your mom be in the hospital?

    Reply
  2. JAMBender

    ~I’ve been away for a while, so I’m looking forward to reading back a bit into your life.  I love the pictures of your boys climbing into your bag. . .those are great!  So glad to hear about your mom, keep us updated on her recovery.  I have missed reading your posts. . .they are always an encouragement to me, plus I love hearing your fun stories about your life and your boys 🙂  Have a wonderful day!~

    Reply
  3. theroyerfam

    Thanks for your prayers, Holl. My mom is still in the hospital. They are meeting today to set a release date. They are thinking this wknd, as soon as she’s able to care for herself. She’s still on some pretty strong pain meds, and she’s trying not to take them all the time because of all the side effects, but then she’s in a lot of pain…so, it can get discouraging. But she’s come so far in just a week, and we continue to pray the next week is just as good in recovering–and that no infection or complications appear. I wish there was more I could do to help her pain/recovery, but it is an awesome privilege to ask the Comforter and Healer to be near to her. Thanks again for remembering her in prayer.

    Reply
  4. theroyerfam

    Thanks for your prayers, Holl. My mom is still in the hospital. They are meeting today to set a release date. They are thinking this wknd, as soon as she’s able to care for herself. She’s still on some pretty strong pain meds, and she’s trying not to take them all the time because of all the side effects, but then she’s in a lot of pain…so, it can get discouraging. But she’s come so far in just a week, and we continue to pray the next week is just as good in recovering–and that no infection or complications appear. I wish there was more I could do to help her pain/recovery, but it is an awesome privilege to ask the Comforter and Healer to be near to her. Thanks again for remembering her in prayer.

    Reply
  5. FranciPantsJones

    Hey Sara, I don’t know what’s going on with your mom, but I’ll be praying anyways:). I appreciate your blog because of the way you communicate your thoughts… its very real and just refreshing. I hope that you have a good week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

