home…and adjusting

Wednesday evening update…
Well, it was a much better day than yesterday.  The boys seem to be getting back to
their “normal” selves…atleast they are able to play somewhat happily…at times ๐Ÿ™‚  I think the fact someone has been sick in our house
since Christmas got to me; it’s been a loooong winter, and I’ve just been ready
to get past this…Well, we got an e-mail from some friends in Africa. 
They have 2 small children and their oldest has a severe case of
malaria.  On top of that, they had to leave everything behind and flee
the country because of political unrest.  They are very discouraged,
tired, stressed. 
Please pray for Caleb and
Sandi, that God’s peace and strength would flood their hearts. 


Suddenly, the realities that our child is in preschool, picking up and passing around all sorts of new illness seems so trivial.  And beyond that, even if we were in severe danger and trial, I’m so far from understanding Paul’s words in midst of suffering. 

Therefore we do not lose heart.  Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.  For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.  So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen.  For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. 
1 Corinthians 4.16-18



We got back Sunday night, after a really nice time in Ohio…well, except our boys got sick.  Miles came down with a fever Thursday (well, it may have been Wed., but I probably was in denial)…all I know is when I took his temp. Thurs., it kept going up and up and up and I pulled it out at 104.4…scary.  I hate when that happens away from home, but my parents were so great, and our boys were in sweet spirits even though their eyes were red and droopy and they felt/looked miserable (yes, Jack came down with it Sat.)  Miles was doing better Sat., so we took him with us to church.  We used to live right across the street, and as we pulled into the church, Miles pointed to our old house and said “Noah and Miah’s house.”  Well, it was a long way from their house, but it was really cool that there was something about it that he recognized (he was 2 when we moved, so almost 2 yrs.)  Anyhow, it was so good to see some dear friends from there.  It was really a special time.  (And although Jack wasn’t well, I think he was glad to have grandma and grandpa all to himself for awhile.)

DSC_0054
So, we’re back and I think it’s been a rude awakening for our boys.  They went from 4 adults caring for their every need and desire 24/7 to…me, and I’m still trying to cook, clean, catch up on laundry and be their loving referee.  Needless to say, it’s been kinda rough.  I miss the days when taking a vacation was a vacation.  I guess we’re growing up, and Andy has so much to catch up on from being away 4 days.  So, today I’m trying to learn from yesterday’s mistakes and simplifying.  (I never knew how hard this is for me to slooooow down.)  But, it’s play on the floor day and eat leftovers and forego all that seems so “important” for the sake of our sanity.  Ok, off to “make juice and stir it with the spanking spoon” (per Miles’ request ๐Ÿ™‚ 

Enjoy the season of life you’re in!  I have ladies tell me over and over…it will pass all too quickly!
DSC_0063
DSC_0059
DSC_0081
DSC_0073

6 thoughts on “home…and adjusting

  1. tsdg

    I also miss when vacation really was a vacation—-but I really like my kids so I’ll trade it for awhile still. A day at home or out doing something with all of us is just as fun! I hope all are feeling better now!

    Reply
  2. crabtrees

    It is good to keep perspective on our present temporary troubles. Sometimes I find it hard to simplify my day, because in my head it all needs to be done. (except dusting and mirrors, I let those go)

    Reply
  3. peteandheather

    I didn’t know your dad’s a twin too.  I had similar thoughts about two kids out of one delivery, but then the reality of caring for two infants and a toddler struck…wow!  I’m so thankful for just one at a time!  ๐Ÿ™‚  I really appreciate what you shared about your friends in Africa and perspective…it’s so easy to let our “light and momentary” troubles consume us.  I hope everyone is healthy again and I LOVE the pictures–beautiful blue eyes!  ๐Ÿ™‚ 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

