you know things are crazy when…

you find vomit on the floor 3 days after the fact… 
I know, I know, this may gross some of you out, so you can skip to the next paragraph, but I think it’s kinda funny, and illustrates my week a bit.  Thursday one of our boys’ little friends was over.  She and Jack were playing in his room while her mom and I were out in the living room with the others.  She started crying pretty hard, so I went to see what was the matter.  She, part of Jack, and lots of his floor were covered in puke.  Her mom was feeding the baby, so I cleaned up the mess and the kids.  They’re staying for dinner, so I throw something together.  Bathe kids, put them down, my HS girls’ small group comes over, go back in Jack’s room to check on him, and it smells horrible in there.  Spray some lysol and leave door open.  Next day, smells really bad in there.  Spray more lysol and open window to air it out.  Get them around and out the door to a friends’ house.  Come home and see Andy, catch up on our days…and on and on…until Sunday morning, I’m getting the boys around for church and open Jack’s closet door to find a shirt for him.  Yuck-O-LA.  Puke everywhere!!!  I guess I hadn’t looked in the closet.  This would explain why lysol wasn’t doing the trick.  So, I’m cleaning up crusted vomit off the floor, toys, stuffed animals, trying not to lose it myself from the smell…and getting the boys ready for church.
Aaaah, the sabbath.

Needless to say, today has been spent cleaning every nook and cranny.  Bless my dear husband’s heart, who on his day off has been dusting up a storm and cleaning right alongside me…the kids were really eager to help too.  (In these pics, Jack was saying “It’s happy-family-cleaning-time.”  I thought that was really sweet.) 

jack cleaning
DSC_0009
Miles was trying hard to scrub off all the art he has added to our walls…but another day will have to be devoted to painting over the random sketch pads that used to be our walls.
miles cleaning
miles scrubbing
I’m SO into KNITTING!!!  Saturday I went to HOBBY LOBBY (I’m saying capitalized words in high-pitched voice as it was so exciting.)  They had 4 ROWS OF YARN!!!  I think I spent 2 hours in those 4 rows.  It was so much fun, and I know that sounds insane.  But if you ever start knitting, you’ll understand.  The only problem is I’m not like the normal knitter who kinda does it on the side, I’m in such a strange hurry to get this blanket done, it’s become somewhat an obsession.  Andy told me I can’t take it to church, or else I may have (just kidding, it’s not that bad.)  But today, he had some errands to do and was going to the car wash, so I went along because I LOVE the car wash and had never been to one until my adult life….and I brought along my knitting 🙂  I didn’t get as much done as I thought I could because seriously, the car wash is so exciting.  Miles shares my love and appreciation for the huge octopus and sea urchins that soap up the car.  Jack was terrified, scooting away from the window because he thought he was going to get wet and cried the whole time. 
Anyhow, if you have some extra time on your hands, you should learn to knit.  And even if you don’t have extra time on your hands, it’s still fun 🙂

But really I haven’t been able to get online because our internet wasn’t working.  There’s a ton of fun stories to tell you from last week, but that blanket is CALLING ME!!!  Have a good week, guys.  Andy’s parents are coming back NEXT MONDAY for a year furlough.  We’re SO EXCITED!!!

Brasilian Lemonade
Limonada
Suiça

(I found this online–I’ve never measured mine out, but I’ll get some limes and let you know if it passes the test 🙂

2 limes**
1/2 cup sugar*
3 tablespoons sweetened condensed milk
3 cups water
ice
*Okay, just looking at this, I would probably start with 1/4 c. sugar.  Brazilians make theirs very sweet, but I like it better tart.  You could always add more sugar to taste. 
**I use key limes, and maybe use 5-6.

  1. Wash limes thoroughly. Cut off the ends
    and slice into eight wedges. (Or for key limes, put them in the blender whole.)  Place limes in a blender with the sugar,
    sweetened condensed milk, water, and ice.
  2. Blend in an electric blender, pulsing 5 times. (They will become bitter the more you blend.)  Strain
    through a fine mesh strainer to remove rinds. Serve over ice.  (You can decorate with lime slices or sometimes we add seltzer water or ginger ale to make it sparkly–not really Brazilian, but fun 🙂 
    Drink while fresh. This lemonade should not be
    kept on the fridge (It gets bitter).
9 thoughts on “you know things are crazy when…

  1. tsdg

    Oh yeah, that smell would be so gross, I’m so glad you found the extra vomit. I’m sure things are smelling much better in Jack’s room now. I’ve always been fascinated by knitting—maybe someday I’ll learn. The car wash sounds very funny–a great family experience! Enjoy knitting!

    Reply
  2. jilandrich

    I’ve missed your posts! You’re so funny- the car wash, haha. I don’t know if I have the patience for knitting. I would love to make something cute but I’m pretty sure it would never get finished. I’m looking forward to your Brazilian lemonade recipe.

    Reply
  3. peteandheather

    You are so funny.  I love that you are obsessed with knitting.  I’m kind of interested in learning, but I fear I would be the same way…knitting day and night.  I tend to be that way with anything new that I really enjoy…my friend knits, maybe she could teach me.  Great pictures!  Especially the one of Jack with his arms out–I can just hear him saying “it’s happy-family-cleaning-time!”  Kids are great.  Sorry about the vomit–yikes!  At least you found it on day 3–can you imagine after a week!  Ewww!  🙂 

    Reply
  4. peteandheather

    Thanks for the recipe!  I’ll have to try it soon.  I don’t actually have a blender–I have a food processor, but I don’t think it’ll work well with the juice–but I’ve been wanting to get one.  Here’s another reason to invest in one.  However, until then I’ll just be sipping my CountryTime and wishing it were better!  🙂 

    Reply
  5. cherithpeters

    EWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!  I was literaly ohing and ewing out loud while reading your post. There is nothing worse than vomit, especially someone else’s kid’s!  Oh, I can’t handle it.  Steve cleans up all the vomit in our house cause I really can’t handle it.  Anyhow, I am so glad that Andy’s parents are going to be around for a whole year!  That is so exciting! 

    Reply
  6. JAMBender

    ~Your stories always make me laugh.  I love them.  Funny about the knitting. . . .my mom and sister and I stared to get into it about 2 years ago.  One sunday afternoon we were all knitting scarves. .. I fell asleep and woke up to my mom tearing my scarf totally apart and starting it over again.  She was like. .. . “it was really bad Jess.”  What can I say. . .I have no talent for knitting, but I do love the scarves and hats people have made me 🙂  Hope you have a wonderful sick-free week!!~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

