a super-duper long one

DSC_0093
Well, we’re back and getting back in the groove of things.  It’s overwhelming at all there is to do sometimes.  I just unpacked our suitcase yesterday because there’s people we want to catch up with and our kids have been a bit needier than usual.  The treatments seem to be working.  It scared me at first how powerful they are.  After the 1st round, Miles fell asleep in the car and didn’t budge for 2 1/2 hrs.  Andy and I took turns dropping each other off at places to get lunch and coffee…then we just parked the car and he still didn’t wake up!  He had 6 treatments and after the last ones, “This makes me tired.”  And they were eliminating allergies, so his nose was constantly running until it was bright red and chapped and he still has a nasty cough as stuff is draining, but Miles is such a trooper.  In all this I’d ask “Does your nose hurt?”  He’d think and say “No, it’s feeling better.”  I can’t imagine it not hurting, but he has such a high pain threshold with all he’s been through.  It astounds me.  I really liked the dr.  We put her to the test with our endless questions, and we’re very encouraged to get some answers.  We’ll finish the treatments in May and then test for metal toxicity levels in his body and from there, possibly do chelation.  It sounds so scary, and I appreciate she’s not rushing us, but encouraging us to research and do one step at a time.

On a non-medical note…Our neighbors have been moving tables and dressers into their garage.  Last night I had a dream their sister was moving into their garage, but I have a hunch it’s for a garage sale.  We just had a garage sale last summer, but need to do one again.  It’s amazing how much you can accumulate with kids!!  I have no idea when I’ll find time to get around to it, but making money and eliminating clutter are 2 priorities at this point ๐Ÿ™‚

Miles turns 4 in 1 week.  He wants a tiger cake.  Hmmm.  I’ve been looking through books of cakes, and there’s a complete bias toward girly cakes–ladybugs, butterflies, etc.  It’s so hard to find a cute boy cake.  Atleast, that’s my consensus.  I think we’re either going to the zoo or chuckEcheese, if it’s raining.  I’m pumped.  I never have been to chuckEcheese. 
DSC_0095
I’m kinda at a loss for what else to say, so I should note some fun sayings:
— “When I’m 3, I’m going to ride in a tractor with a man.”  (Jack telling me why he was scared to ride in the tractor with my uncle…because he’ll do it when he’s 3)

— “You’re my best friend ever.  You’re my girlfriend puppy.”  (Miles telling his friend Abby, who is half his size and age, litterally robbing the cradle ๐Ÿ™‚

–“Um (clear throat), excuse me, I have a question.  Can you get me a band-aid?”  (Jack came around the corner with this grown-up talk and cracked me right up!)

–“Are you going to make supper or no?”  (Miles is picking up some of my lingo.  Are you…or no? ๐Ÿ™‚
DSC_0090
DSC_0086
And to end my super-duper long post, I just wanted to say thanks for those who prayed last week.  I told Andy last night sometimes when we step back and realize how crazy things are, it’s a true blessing to see how God is sustaining and even strengthening us.  We never could have made it through some of the things we’re faced today.  And I’m excited to see how He continues to grow and mature our faith and dependence on Him.  But I know we have some prayer warriors for parents, and I can’t thank them enough. 

9 thoughts on “a super-duper long one

  1. filledeparis

    I’m SO glad it seems to be working, Sar! We’ll keep praying–God is so faithful and perfect in His capability to care for our needs while sustaining us. Love you!

    Reply
  2. jilandrich

    Miles seems like such a positive kid. It’s so sweet. It’s so cool to see how proactive you guys are in your research and finding treatments for him. Thanks for the update.

    Reply
  3. katievarela

    Sara – It’s so encouraging that the treatments seem to be working. Was this a DAN! doctor recommendation? (I’m still overwhelmed with all the info there is out there.)

    I love when you include the funny things the boys say!

    Reply
  4. cmanahan

    I enjoyed reading this several days ago and didn’t leave a comment.  I’m thankful things went well, and hope you are finding some rest….in whatever form, this week.

    Reply
  5. tsdg

    The jump to three kids—-it really has been going well. The first baby everything is so new and sort of stressful because of learning how to do the baby thing, the second seemed much easier, you feel like you know what you are doing and the third I know what I’m doing and not stressed out at all about what I was with the first. The older two have taken it so well and love their little brother. They talk to him and ask about him when he’s sleeping and want to hold him, it is so sweet. They are very tender with him. It has been going really well, it makes a huge difference that Brian is around a lot to help. I highly recommend it!

    Reply
  6. JAMBender

    ~Hi ๐Ÿ™‚  I sent you an invite to be my friend, you just have to accept it.  If you go down the side of your site when you’re signed in, like where it has footprints and such, it should say invites, and you should have one from me.  Just accept it and you’ll be able to view my site ๐Ÿ™‚  Hope things are well!~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

