the dreaded week.

I just did it, and it stings.  I turned the page in our planner to this week, which says school starts, which means Miles goes back to preschool Wed., which floods me with a ton of emotions. 
Gratitude for how far he’s come, thinking back to last year and having no idea how he’d (or I’d 🙂 do with it all. 
Thankfulness for a great preschool and caring teacher. 
Love for him I can’t even express. 
Desire to want to be there for him, to pick him up when he falls or help him when he’s called on and may not know the answer.
Amazement at the beautiful creation God has made him to be–he blows me away with how tender-hearted he is.  (I’ve been working on pointing out what character qualities they’re showing when they do something, and it’s so sweet how they’re catching on.  Jack will do something, and Miles will beat me to say “and that’s kindness!”) 
I need to focus on these more often, but I also get waves of the other.
Fear of how he will handle everything…
Will the meltdowns come back from complete sensory overload?
How will he handle the allergies he has to the animals in his preschool room?
Will kids tease him and him not know what they mean?
Or will his feelings get hurt?
Did he digress over the summer and all the other kids get super-smart?
Will he feel an unhealthy sense of pressure that everyone is going at a faster pace than him?
Someone might think why in the world put yourself and him through all of this?  Each child is so different, and we made the decision we think is best for Miles.  We aren’t sending Jackson, as we feel that’s best for Jack.  But Miles learns so much from being around the other kids, and we will all be just fine.   These are just some of the initial things I think of as I turn the page in my daytimer. 
Oh yeah, and I just realized I don’t have a single school supply…don’t even have the supply list…and forgot all about the dr. checkup that needs done before the 1st day.  Major whoops. 
DSC_0096
DSC_0091
Last week, Andy took some days off.  College students are getting back, so this is one of the busiest times for Andy, but we’re so thankful we did it.  My parents watched the kids for us, and we had 2 days, 1 night to ourselves.  I couldn’t believe how refreshing it was to have 0 responsibilities for 30 hours.  I feel like a different person!  We spent alot of time in prayer and reflection over the past and upcoming year.  But we also had some fun here, here, and here…and of course here, here, and here.  I love my husband and am so blessed to be his partner for life, ministry, parenting, and just bumming around like we don’t have a care in the world.
DSC_0041
DSC_0038
Jack helping dad stack wood.  A boy after my dad’s heart.  I just heard Jack tell Andy “When I get to be a man like you, I’ll get to drink hot coffee and sleep in the big bed with you and momma.” 
DSC_0045DSC_0047

7 thoughts on “the dreaded week.

  1. tsdg

    I hope Miles has a good first day. Your 30 hours of fun was jam packed. I love Macaroni Grill and the country estate looked so cool.

    Reply
  2. jilandrich

    I love reading what you have to say about being a mom. You are so honest and aware and giving to your kids. It’s encouraging and inspiring. So glad for you that you and Andy has some time away together. The pictures are great.

    Reply
  3. cherithpeters

    I understand the back-to-school dread. I have to give Athaiah up all day this year to first grade. Ahhhh!!! Where did the summer go?  Sara, I don’t think anyone questions your parenting decisions…how can we? You two seem more commited to doing what is best for your kids and to seeking out God’s will in each decision than anyone else I know! 

    Reply
  4. katievarela

    Hi Sara! Thanks for asking about the enzymes. I replied to your comment on my blog but thought I’d leave it here too. The enzymes have pretty much just become a normal part of our routine now. Nate is used to taking them before each meal and in his water in between meals. He has made some improvements (a bit more social, definitely more vocal even if no words), and of course it’s hard to say what is from enzymes and what would have happened anyway, but I’m generally pleased with the enzymes. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

