Our kids have been into David and Goliath for awhile now.  So, I’m getting very familiar with the story.  The other day at the library, they found a video on it from “The Beginner’s Bible.”  I’m usually leery of Bible story videos, but this one was well done, and they’ve watched it many times.  Those Old Testament stories are fascinating to me.  I lose sight of the power and might of this God we serve…until I read those stories, and remember my God did that!  There were times in my life where I’d be the first one in line to face that giant because of what I’d seen what God could do.  Now, I find myself singing the song “My Savior, He can move the mountains.  My God is Mighty to save….”  And yet, like David’s brothers, cowering at the thought of God using me to do something great because it’s just much more comfortable in our little neighborhood. 
Suburbia.  A friend had used that term a few years ago, and I thought it was funny, thinking I so cannot relate.  Well, it’s now very much a reality.  It’s something we often talk about and pray against.  There’s something so subtle and deceiving about it all.  I’ve been proud that my kid is 1 of 2 (out of 16) who don’t have brand new gym shoes
for him to wear once a week for 20 minutes!  And I’ve grown content with these navy blue towels that we got for our wedding 6 1/2 yrs. ago when really beige would go better with our decor now.  But ask me to step out and face a giant!  That’s another story…
I’m not saying it’s bad to live in a nice house or neighborhood or have towels that match…or new gym shoes  It’s just that my
kids can cry if their pretzels are broken, and that bothers me.  There have been times this week I’ll say it’s
time for dinner, and they cry because they don’t want whatever I made.  And that bugs me.  I want my kids to learn gratitude, even when they
don’t have it all, because they have more than most people!  And maybe I don’t want them to have more than most people.  I don’t know. 
I don’t really know how to end this.  These are just some honest thoughts, not to look down on anyone at all.  Just to say I want to live by faith, not security.  And right now, I don’t know that I do.  I don’t know what that looks like, but I want to be so close to my God like David that a giant would be nothing to face.

Oops…can’t forgot pics.
Spikes the other night, our beach volley tournament for the college students.  The kids and I went for awhile, and they got to play at “the beach with no water.”
andy block
DSC_0049
jack at spikesmiles at spikes
Miles and Jack have been little buddies these days.  Jack bit Miles the other day, but then Miles pleaded that Jack wouldn’t get a spanking, “only a time out.”  It’s been cool to see their friendship and loyalty grow.
jack and milesmiles and jack
–My favorite Jack quote of the week.  They were talking on fake phones.  I overhear Jack saying “Hello, stranger.  Could you give me some of your candy, please?” 
–Favorite Miles quote of the week:  Andy and I were talking about when I was pregnant and had no appetite for coffee.  Miles was listening in apparently, and a few hours later that afternoon, he brought me an apple.  I asked what’s this for?  Miles said “I brought you an apple so you can have your apple-tite back.”  Hahahaha 🙂

7 thoughts on “

  1. speedyjhg

    Suburbia is a multi-faceted issue that was introduced to me in college and I have yet to stop wrestling with it (I doubt I will).  In school, however, we focus on the aspect of the dependence on the car over public transportation and walking.  Which brings up questions of how do we shape our environment to help or hinder our physical/emotional/spiritual development?  Is it equitable to create a system that people are required to have a car to get around (and on the same lines structure homework assignments that require internet access)?  What does society say that we need to survive daily life, that really have no value, but we must spend money/time/resources in order to function?
    I know this doesn’t resolve any of your questions, but I thought I would join in the questioning.

    Reply
  2. cmanahan

    Our church finished a series on “Kingdom Economics” last winter.  It was one of the most thoughtful and scriptural (rather than American) looks at money I had ever been a part of.  During the series, in addition to a lot of scripture, our pastor frequently referenced a book called, Death by Suburb, by David Goetz (sp?).  I haven’t read it yet, but want to, and I know our local library has it.  He’s a pastor, and apparently is extremely insightful, as well as funny.  Good post.  I think about those kind of things all the time, especially due to the extremely affluent environment my kids will be living in, growing in, and going to school in.

    Reply
  3. filledeparis

    Great thoughts, Sar. I think that you are right on track to pose these questions, friend, especially living in Amercian suburbia.But, what a challenge for us all, regardless of where we live. Do share any tips that you find for instilling gratitude in your little ones. Gratitude really has to be “caught,” and cultivated, I think. I have a feeling that they will see it modeled by their parents, too.

    Reply
  4. cherithpeters

    HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!! I love that you write all the great things your kids say! They crack me up every time! My sister-in-law does the same (as well as writing down milestones) and then once a year prints off all her posts about the kids and puts them into a binder in lew (sp?) of a baby book. ANYHOW…I appreciate your thoughts. Life does get so comfortable here in America. I have been reading Isaiah and I think a lot of it speaks to this issue. There is a fine line between working hard or having healthy aspirations and being greedy, ungrateful and forgetful of who provides all that we have.  The really hard part though is staying kingdom-focused through it all. I don’t think there is anything inherently wrong with living in suburbia and having a lucrative job. There’s an awful lot of lost people in that world and they need Jesus just as much as the unreached people groups of the world. It is just SO HARD to stay focused on evangelism in that environment. I don’t think this is really quite  what you were talking about, but it is an issue Steve and I have been struggling through lately.

    Reply
  5. jilandrich

    I really love reading your posts. We have wrestled through these same issues. Still wrestling, I think. There is so much I despise about what our culture has ingrained in us as to what’s normal. I despise it yet there’s a lot in me that still wants it. I’m starting to understand more and more that contentment and security comes only from Christ. Hey, at least you’re mixing things up in the suburbs…is that a tattoo on Miles’ arm? 🙂

    Reply
  6. theroyerfam

    Wow! I loved reading everyone’s comments. This has been on my mind so much, I really couldn’t think of much else to write about. To answer some questions about it all…Jil, Yes, Miles is sporting a tat (only temporary). Andy is getting one for his 30th birthday (that was a few mos. ago), but it’s hard to decide what you want permanently drawn on your body! He did decide, and of course, everyone will see how it turns out. Cherith, That’s a great idea about the binder thing, thanks! I always think I’ll copy these into a “journal” I started for each kid when I was pregnant…but I’m not doing so well…I appreciate your thoughts about kingdom-focus. I’ve been thinking about that term a lot. Holls, The stranger comment came from me trying to teach our boys about strangers. They know no strangers and are often friendly to people I would rather them not talk with (that may sound harsh), but I’ve been trying to explain some dangers…and they just think it’s cool they may have candy. You’re so right about it being caught, and that happens over the long haul.CMan, I love the name of that book and series. Sounds like great stuff—I will have to look it up.Speedy J, I was in the grocery store parking lot the other day when I saw a lady who had ridden her bike pulling her 2 young kids. She had her own cloth shopping bags. And I felt awful as I got into my minivan with my plastic bags. I was in a hurry, so I can’t imagine lugging the kids on my bike…but then again, why did I have to be in such a hurry? Because society says so…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

