fall camping.

Some pics from the weekend.  It’s been a few weeks, and there’s a ton
to catch up on.  But I’m enjoying the rest of the beautiful (warm!)
days while we can!  So here’s some pics for those who haven’t seen us
in awhile. 
DSC_0074
DSC_0118DSC_0102
t-ma and grandma
t-pa and jack
DSC_0077
sunset
family

DSC_0067
That smile says it all. 
I love this time of year.  I love this
stage in life.  It almost seems surreal, I’m loving it so much. 
The
other night, we were driving back after hanging out at a
friends’ house, the kids were singing a silly song in the back and
laughing their heads off, Andy was holding my hand as we sipped our cappuccinos.  And as we were coming around a bend, there was a semi
coming toward us.  I probably am too much of a fatalist, but in my
mind, I thought we have it so good, and it could change at any minute. 
For a split second, I almost braced myself for the semi to hit us.  We’re fine, and I’m thankful.  But I
guess we’ve been through some rough times over the past few years, and I know more will come.  There was a verse that was so meaningful to me when we were walking through some devastating times last year.  It’s in Romans 5.3-5:  We also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.  And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out His love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom He has given us.  I remember reading this and having a hard time.  I could barely accept our suffering, let alone rejoice!  And I’d think what’s so wrong with my character that we have such a hardship to face!  I don’t understand it all, but I do know God has poured out His love into my heart.  And I do rejoice for all that He has done.  It’s taken some time.  And it’s nothing I’ve done for sure.  But God caring enough to reveal more of Himself through our pain.  If I hadn’t come to the end of myself, I don’t know that I’d ever have known His great love for me.
And moments like these are all the more precious as Miles comes toward me with a flower saying “Here momma, this is for you, the most special mom in the whole world.” 
DSC_0114
Okay, I was going to just post pics, but there were so many thoughts that came to mind.

6 thoughts on “fall camping.

  1. tsdg

    What a wonderful time of camping with family—it is all so picturesque.  I always appreciate your honesty and depth.  God is so amazing.  He always catches my attention through pain….his love is like no other.  

    Reply
  2. JAMBender

    ~Are you at Potato Creek?  I love camping-wish we did it more ๐Ÿ™‚  We’ve went once this year, but this type of weather that we’re having right now is perfect for camping!  As always, thanks for sharing from your heart, and sharing your boys with us!~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

