alive and well…

Sorry to concern any of you.  We’re doing great!!  Our computer hasn’t though…We don’t have a personal computer, and I use Andy’s laptop when I can to update.  But it’s been out of commision on and off for over a month, and when it works, he has alot to catch up on…So, I’ll pop in a quick post while he’s occupied elsewhere and it’s running 🙂  Wish I had time to check in on all of you.  But I need to head off to get groceries before anyone wants lunch.  We just got back from a nice, fun, relaxing wknd. in Ohio, finishing up Miles’ allergy treatments and spending hours and hours outside in this beautiful summer/fall weather (thanks to Miles’ allergy treatments, we can now ALL enjoy our time outside!)  I guess I don’t really know where to begin to update.  So, I guess I’ll have to another time.  But I wanted to let you know we’re doing really well.  It was a bummer at first to not have a computer.  But after a month without, I actually don’t mind it.  I do miss e-mail and reading how you all are.  But with our kids going to bed at 6.30 pm (on no-nap days) and Andy and I staying up until 11.30…it makes for some really nice evenings.  I have time to read my Bible and enjoy my husband!  I know you all are on the edge of your seats to hear how we’re doing, and I didn’t want you to wait any longer…but I’ll have to share more later…tummies will soon start to grumble 🙂

(Fern, I’m giving up milk too.  It’s not easy, but they have some yummy alternatives–almond milk and rice cheese.  Maybe when your options are limited, things you never thought would taste good!  But I feel SO much better.  You probably have a WholeFoods, Wild Oats, or Trader Joe’s near you–they have lots of variety of non-dairy products.  I have to stock up when I’m near one.  Anyhow, hang in there.  It’s worth the feeling better part!)

5 thoughts on “alive and well…

  1. spies_likeus

    Thanks for the info Sara :):) You know, I never really bought into the whole milk could be bad for you movement. But now that my body is reacting so negatively to it… I think you might be right about it not being the best option for us to drink! I did hear about almond milk and I saw some at the store the other day… I think I just might try it out!! That would be a good alternative for Calcium!! I especially like the fact that it’s not soy. Honestly… soy kind of scares me too… I’ve heard some stuff about soy… I’ll have to research it a little more but there’s something not great about it being a phytoestrogen. Anyway,  you’re also right about feeling better being worth the hassel!!! It feels SO nice to not feel sick 🙂 I spend a lot longer in the grocery store now… reading labels 🙂 But once I get the hang of it it’ll be a breeze!
    It’s nice to not be alone in my non-dairy-ness 🙂

    Reply
  2. spies_likeus

    Hey, I found an article about soy that’s pretty interesting… here’s the link.
    http://www.soyonlineservice.co.nz/
    So yeah… no soy for me. I believe that about soy being linked to thyroid problems. I had a friend (she’s our age) who as an infant, was given soy baby formula since she was allergic to milk… and now she has all kinds of thyroid problems and health problems in general!! That’s crazy huh?

    Reply
  3. jilandrich

    It’s good to hear how you’re doing.  Yay for Miles’ allergy treatment!  And its success- that is just so cool.  Wow, I just went to the link about soy.  I’m not sure I’ve ever heard anything bad about soy.  I have some reading to do.  Hope you have a good week.

    Reply
  4. filledeparis

    Hi friend. It’s good to hear from you. Were the allergy treatments helpful? Hope so. We’re back in Paris with fierce jetlag. It was so refreshing to see you. I am planning on contacting the potential mentor soon…and you? Remember–you guys are welcome here anytime.Think internet deals!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

