My Shelter

We closed on our house this week.
It took awhile to talk about it. Or really, to talk at all πŸ™‚
It hit me harder than anticipated. Not so much the selling our house. Probably more the signing a 4-page lease to rent it for another week. That just felt weird. An all-of-a-sudden feeling of being home-less. We’re still living in this house, it’s just not “ours” anymore.
I know, this is all very much a first-world problem.

I guess sometimes it takes awhile for my heart to catch up with what I believe in my head.
I want to rejoice in all the ways the Lord has lavished His kindness upon us. But instead there was a little bit of panic and a whole lot of pity goin’ on. Then, these verses “happened” to appear in my Bible reading:

Whom have I in heaven but You?
I desire You more than anything on earth.
My health may fail and my spirit may grow weak (and we may sell our beloved home),
but God remains the strength of my heart;
He is mine forever…
I have made the Sovereign Lord my shelter,
and I will tell everyone about the wonderful things You do.
Psalm 73. 26, 28

Once again, my heart found the strength it needs.
I have made the Sovereign Lord my shelter. We may be house-less, but we certainly are not home-less. Home is wherever I am with You. And, the good news is that He is mine. My shelter.
Here. There. Forever!

Sorry, no pics this time. We’re in crazy stages of sorting, ridding, packing, salsa-making, moving.
One more step in the journey, and we are so blessed to have you joining along.
Enjoy your weekend, friends πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

